レミニセンス – Impressions

After spending some 3 or days going through the AkaGoei series again to remind myself about some things, I remember once again just how much of a patchwork that series was. That said, Reminiscence itself is more or less another series entirely as well.

The protagonist Hidetaka is, compared to Kaito, much more of a hetare. Though he was once a genius during his school days, he lost all of it because of a certain event that is only referred to so far and not really known other than it seems he lost his elder sister during it.

As a result, while he still holds his genius potential, he has more or less lost his confidence and ended up pessimistic towards things. He also has some mental problems as well.

Well despite that, people who have seen him during his school days are still putting high expectations in him. Because of those connections, while for 5 years he had been working as a teacher in an all-girls school, he eventually returned to chase his dream. Much to the dismay of some.

To be honest the setting pretty much reminds me of Kyonyuu  Fantasy to some extent. The difference is that while in Kyonyuu Fantasy everyone looked down on the protagonist, in this case it’s mainly his co-workers who look down on him. Which, by the way, pisses me off when thinking that Hidetaka managed to solve problems they failed miserably on and all they do is continue to mock him.

Heroine-wise, there’s one person I haven’t really met yet but the heroines are passable. I sort of feel that the AkaGoei ones were more interesting to be honest.

The entire problem with Reminiscence so far is that because it’s related to AkaGoei, I can’t help but draw comparisons between the two. And in that area, I generally feel that Reminiscence is a step down from AkaGoei in characters overall. It also lost the witty conversations between the protagonist and heroines that AkaGoei did well.

Due to that, I currently still have mixed feelings in putting the two together. It just feels like it shouldn’t have been put together with AkaGoei to begin with, frankly. This may change as I progress through the common route but for time being that’s what I feel.

Though, unlike the heroines in AkaGoei the ones in Reminiscence feel like they have pretty… unique problems. Particularly with one being an android, another being a little sister who hates his guts and another which, no matter how you look at it, is netori since she already has a fiancee.

W-what happened to my cute, sickly brocon little sister? ;_;

W-what happened to my cute, sickly brocon little sister? ;_;

I’m hoping that it doesn’t succeed the worst parts of AkaGoei as well, namely the sudden endings. It’s a joke how some of the endings in AkaGoei felt like they decided to credit roll in the middle of a conversation. There were also plenty of characters that weren’t used and overall gave a heavy feel of incompleteness.

Unfortunately from the reviews I’ve read on EGS, it does exactly that. Though I heard that some routes were okay but the rest of the routes were junk so in the end I guess I shouldn’t expect much in terms of routes.

Oh well, it’s hard to judge things so far so for time being I’ll continue reading and see how things go. It’d be nice if it doesn’t disappoint more than expected…

This might as well be the first time dealing with netori for me.

3 thoughts on “レミニセンス – Impressions

  1. I have high hopes for this one. Reminds me of yugo the negotiator(manga),one impossible negotiation after another. Never played akatsuki no goei so I can’t draw the similarities,but most of akabei soft game are big hit(konboku,g senjou) or total miss (a profile,wlo) for me. Just one complaint tough,there is no oneesan type heroine,they’re all stuck in supporting chara. T_T

Leave a comment